Writing Vacation

I officially went on vacation this week, and it’s been wonderful. Sleeping in so late that Publisher’s Lunch is waiting in my inbox when I wake, filling the house with Christmas cookie smells, coercing my mother into doing my laundry for me…it is the quintessential college break. But the best part is the writing. I’ve given myself permission to write whatever I want, however I want. In the past years as I’ve learned how to write well, I’ve become more and more focused on the craft and less and less focused on the fun. That’s not to say I’ve stopped having fun, but the fun has become more complicated.

Not this month. For the month of December, I have granted myself a reprieve from all craft, from all good writing. I’m just writing whatever is floating around in my head, no matter whether it has worth or not.

 

It’s been a blast so far, and the best part is that it isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It seems some of the techniques I’ve worked so hard to learn have actually become ingrained in my writing process. I don’t need to think not to write cliches; I have a near-physical reaction to anything like “she saw red she was so angry,” so I don’t even have to worry about it. Bad dialogue, too, makes me jolt, so I autofix it before writing it. Of course, what I’m writing isn’t masterpiece material, but that’s not the point. The point is to relax, have fun, and put some of my Christmas-cookie-making spirit into my writing. I’m reinvigorating my love for writing by doing it for fun again instead of for skill or for money (I wish). So here’s an eggnog to a vacation from good writing!


 

Leave a Reply

